top of page
Search
  • filmdearte

INTERVIEW WITH THE DIRECTOR LESSIE PHILPOT

WE HAVE ADDED THE INTERVIEW OF TALENTED FILMMAKER LESSIE PHILPOT WHO DIRECTED THE COMEDY FILM " STRUGGLE "


Q) Please tell us what inspired you to make a unique film like STRUGGLE?


My relationship with two of my childhood friends. It definitely helped me set

the energy between the actors.


Q) Filmmaking is a hard worker's job. So what keeps you motivated?


I worked some hard jobs before and filmmaking isn't one. Shout out to my

people that work warehouse jobs and lay concrete down. Now those are hard jobs.

I enjoy filmmaking. My motivation is knowing I have a story to tell and I am living out my

ancestors dreams.


Q) What are your views on the importance of Sound Production in Films?


I'm 50/50 about it. It is important of course to have good sound, so you can get

your message across smoothly. On the flipside, some filmmakers don't have a budget for good audio so they have to deal with the cards they have. I love seeing the underdog trying and moving forward in their mission, even if it might not sound great or look great.

DIRECTOR - LESSIE PHILPOT


Q) Who are your filmmaking influencers?


Melvin Van Peeble R.I.P to God, Spike Lee, Hype Williams, Lil X


Q) How do you choose a script that you are going to direct?


The Script has to tough my soul.


Q) Please share some interesting memories during the Production time of

STRUGGLE.


I don't have any that I can recall, but I did do the casting and the actors did not

know each other. They had one table read but watching them on and off the camera you would think they knew each other for years.



31 views1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page